Early Morning Rants

It is currently 1:30AM and I cannot sleep. I haven’t been able to sleep well for the past couple of days. I think it is because I have so many things running through my mind at once and it is not helping with my exhaustion. I’m hoping that writing something down will help alleviate the weight on my mind and let me get back to a more “normal” sleeping pattern.

One of the things that has been on my mind recently is my bottle cap mosaic piece that I mentioned in an earlier post and every day I get closer and closer to completing it. I have accumulated thousands of bottle caps with the help of So Addictive, a local bar and club. I’m currently in the process of organizing all the bottle caps by brand and type so I can go through and figure out which cap will go where in the final piece. It’s hard to believe that a few years ago I had this insane idea for this mosaic and now I’m getting ever so close to finishing it.

Another item on my list of “keep Seth awake subjects” is an anemometer I have put on hold for about a year or so. The issue I had run into the last time I worked on it was figuring out how to construct the rotating part which would catch the wind and allow me to measure the wind speed. When this project first started, that was supposed to be the “easy” part and the electronics/logic aspect would be the “difficult” part. Apparently I was wrong. The reason this has popped into my mind again is that I think I may have found a possible solution to the issue at hand. However, what I have found probably wont work 100% for what I need it to do, it has given me another option to look into and research for the final product. Once this part gets figured out I have another item on my list to cross off.

I’m finding that the closer I get to completing a project, more ideas and projects pop into my mind. To paraphrase Fat Bastard from Austin Powers, “It’s a vicious cycle.”

It’s late. I’m tired. I’m going to go smoke one last cigarette before I call it a night and try to get some sleep before the grind begins again tomorrow.

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

