Vacation

Last night, my fiance and I returned home from a 5 day long vacation.

We visited family in Louisiana, where my soon-to-be sister-in-law graduated from College.

We flew into New Orleans (which is pronounced or-lins, not or-leans, damn it!), and we knew we made it to the dirty south when we went to go pick up our rental car.

My fiance had gone into the rental office to pick up our car, while I waited outside with our luggage and had a smoke. Not 10 seconds into being outside by myself, some gang-banger-thug-wannabe walked outside, stood right next to our luggage and started checking things out.

Having lived in Louisiana for 6 years, I’ve learned to pick up on subtle characteristics of those who are planning on doing no good, so don’t try to say I was being paranoid…

While this little shit was scoping out his potential pay-day free-for-all, I decided to toss my cigarette out, and let him know I wasn’t stupid. I sat down on the luggage and started opening and closing zippers as if I was looking for something, informing him that this was my/our shit, and he needs to take a step back.

Realizing I wasn’t an easy target, he waddled back inside.

A few minutes later, the fiance came back out w/ the keys to the car.

I asked him if he noticed the little bastard and what, if anything, he was doing inside.

Not a damn thing. Apparently, this young man was just standing around looking at every piece of luggage that came and went through the sliding doors.

Sad really.

On a not-so-frustrating note, I took TONS of pictures while visiting, most of which are portraits, that I need to do some post work to. Once those are done, I’ll put some of them on the intarwebz.

Leave a Reply

